top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJohn Rusty Perena

Teaching Practice: Procedure of Teaching

My topic assigned to me is all about Circular Motion in Physics for Grade 10. At first, almost all of my students are shy and just smiling at me but I can see their eagerness to learn something new from me the moment that I come in to their room. I always told them that do not be shy in asking questions and participating in the class discussions. I always remind them that it is okay to ask some questions in Bahasa Indonesia because I always have my student buddies with me to translate that question and answer as well.

I use constructivist approach and inductive method during my teaching practice. At first, I motivate my students by projecting some pictures and ask them what is that picture and the first thing that they thought when they see that image. And I can say that it is effective because of the reactions and answers that I heard from them. I show them a picture of Gravitron, which is a ride in a amusement park that goes in circle, and a video of how it works. Based on the video, the people inside the gravitron are stuck on the wall and not touching the floor while it is spinning on its full speed. I ask them how it happened and how our topic can explain that kind of phenomenon.

After I discuss the explanation of that phenomenon, I start to give some examples/applications of circular motion in real life. Then I prepare two activities to strengthen their learning process. The first activity is that they will write a reflection paper after watching a short clip about “What will happen if the Earth stop spinning one day?”. This is for attaining the objective which is in affective domain, how circular motion impacts the life of humanity. The second activity is that they will have a skit about the Applications of Circular Motion in Real Life. And this activity is for attaining the objective which is in psychomotor and anchor to the theory of experiential learning.


First part of the PowerPoint Presentation I used during my practicum

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page